About - Edinburgh Festival of Cycling


About the Edinburgh Festival of Cycling

The Edinburgh Festival of Cycling Ltd., is a not-for-profit social enterprise, run by a small group of people. The current board of directors are: Kim Harding (Founder and CEO), John Whittaker, and Ulli Harding. They are assisted by a small group of volunteers.

The Edinburgh Festival of Cycling was originally envisaged as a proper Edinburgh-style festival. A citywide event, originally held over nine days, showcasing and celebrating all aspects of bicycle culture and the city itself. The Festival was expanded from nine days to ten in 2014, and then 11 days inclusive from 2015 onwards.

Unlike some cycling festivals, The Edinburgh Festival of Cycling doesn’t just revolve around the sports side of cycling (although we aim to try and cater for sports cycling in all its forms as well). There are so many sides to cycling – from transport to sport, from leisure activity to cultural icon – all of which the festival sets out to celebrate, with a wide range of sporting, cultural and fun events for all age groups, across the city.

If you have any ideas, or would like to be a part of the Edinburgh Festival of Cycling, please get in touch.

Additional thanks to:

The 2024 team includes John Whittaker (board member) and Mairéad Corr.

Caroline Brown who was a member of the Board from 2104 to 2023.

The 2019 team included Emily Coxson (student intern), Ewan Crawford, and Claire Rampen.

The 2018 team included Laurel Thomson (student intern), Emily Docherty (student intern), Cornelia Moarcas (MSc research student), and Ewan Crawford.

The 2017 team also included Gregor Angus (board member), with the assistance of Ged Walls and Holly Hunter (student intern).

The 2016 team included Claire Connachan (board member) and Hannah Mackenzie (student intern). This website was refreshed in 2016, the project team was led by David Stroud, with assistance from Antonio Mendoza Pérez and Luis Urrea.

The 2015 team also included Markus Stitz and Ged Walls .

The 2014 team also included Paula Burns, Silvia Rodriguez and Sidse Sorensen.

The 2013 team was: Kim Harding, Tracy Griffen (board member), Kirsten Conacher (board member), Andy Wright (board member), Sidse Sorensen, Caroline Brown, Colin Woof and David Harkness. With additional help from Lynne McNicoll, Julie Thomas and Ulli Harding.

Thanks guys, we couldn’t make all this happen without you!


Any profits are distributed to Edinburgh-based cycling organisations which work to promote cycling as transport, sport or a leisure activity. These organisations are carefully chosen by the Edinburgh Festival of Cycling team. The original idea for the Festival can be found on Kim Harding’s blog.

Edinburgh Festival of Cycling